Alec Haavik
New Archives
Mailing List

Alec on CD

Released: July 24, 2008

Alec Haavik Friction Five: Ye Shanghai!

Alec Haavik (Tenor and Soprano Saxophone) presents a set of original compositions which meld the gritty sounds of rock-and-roll with improvisational jazz. His international band, based in Shanghai, China, offers a confluence of sound which is both raucous and pensive, joyous and solemn -- often within the same tune. The CD offers ballads like "Oxytocin in the Tundra," the unfolding story of Alec's son's birth, as well as danceable songs like "Cruise Control," a funky celebration of the open road.

Friction Five:
Alec Haavik –Saxophone (Tenor & Soprano)
Lawrence Ku – Guitar
Leonardo Susi – Percussion
Jin Yong Jun – Bass
Chris Trzcinski – Drums

With special guests:
Sinne Eeg – Vocals
Steinar Nickelsen – Hammond B-2 Organ, synthesizer
Nicholas Bouloukos – Piano, Fender Rhodes

Alec Haavik Friction Five: Ye Shanghai!

Alec Haavik
Alec Haavik: Rocks
Alec's first CD encapsulates the fiercely original New York City scene. The opening track, "Make It Happen," provides an evolution from 80's pop evolves into polytonal reggae into Miles Davis 70's fusion to Devo-style New Wave. Then there's "Ebay," inspired by Jimi Hendrix's "The Wind Cries Mary" and the atonal music of 20th Century composer, Anton Von Webern. There's still more musical surprises, brought to life by these astounding players.

Album Price #
Rocks $12.99
Choose how many, and click
Orders sent by CD Baby - the fastest, safest, and easiest place to buy CDs online. You can also call 1-800-BUY-MY-CD to order by phone.

Alec's Discography